Customer Reviews

Southland Restaurant and Catering IconSouthland Restaurant and Catering

141 Caratoke Highway, Moyock

4.5 1,077 reviews

  • Avatar Tony Romo ★★★★ a year ago
    One stop shop coming and leaving OBX.
  • Avatar Sean Brandenburg ★★★★★ a year ago
    We stop here every year, on the way in and out of the OBX. It's a family tradition.
  • Avatar Rich “RP2u13” ★★★★★ 2 weeks ago
    Extremely worth the 30 minute wait!Food was great as was the waitresses,You would not be disappointed either.I'm visiting from Fla.Fried catfish, pork chops, fried chicken with hush puppies...the best! These are a few things eaten … More in past 4 days.I never post when things come up but i felt it was worth it.
  • Avatar KAtwood Adams ★★★★★ a month ago
    This place is a travel back in time! This is a must stop when traveling through to the Outer Banks. Everyone is super friendly, the barbecue is the bomb, sandwiches are large, servings are generous, Rootbeer floats, ice cream sundaes, … More malts, and any souvenir you can imagine! I dare you to eat an entire banana split! 3 massive scoops, whole banana, toppings and a huge pile of whipped cream. Super generous on their scoops! Cool spot to find old school candy and soda pops. Cheapest smokes in VA/NC!
  • Avatar Nathan Burks ★★★★★ 2 weeks ago
    So sad I don't have a picture to share yet of this place's pulled pork BBQ because I've been eating it almost my whole life! I've lived in Virginia Beach, Chesapeake, and Norfolk, and yet we still make the drive for … More the original! You can now buy their BBQ at Food Lion in most Hampton Roads cities but, it's more expensive and I feel like fresher is better. Go eat there with the family, as a date, it doesn't matter! It's a hometown-type place. You can eat then pick-up more BBQ to go in the store fridge, right next to the BBQ restaurant. They have a decent bottled sauce selection as well. Support local, keep this place in your hearts!!!!***Note for the employees: Y'all absolutely ROCK!!!! Thank you for being the best around!***
  • Avatar Les Potter ★★★★ 3 months ago
    Great service from Skylar. Food was pretty good, but NC BBQ sauce was not our favorite. The hosting staff seemed to be dragging, taking their time to fill empty tables though a long line was waiting. Otherwise, great.
  • Avatar Mike Gunn ★★★★★ 6 months ago
    Stopped here on the way to the airport. Needed to make sure to get some good southern food. Fried chicken truly is phenomenal. Juicy meat and delicious breading. Honestly everything was a 10/10. Brunswick Stew was a high point also! If … More we are ever back in the area, will stop here again!
  • Avatar Gary Holland ★★★★★ 3 months ago
    Southland has good choices on their menu ' but the best for me is there Barbecue' pulled or chopped some of the best I have had and great baked beans. They also have a large shop with a good variety of items ' it's in … More a beautiful old country store setting. I would definitely recommend Southland.
  • Avatar Deborah Casler ★★★★ 3 months ago
    Stopped for a quick lunch on our way home from the OBX. My husband and I had the pulled pork sandwich. You could definitely taste the vinegar in the sauce. Not bad, but I think I'd prefer a regular BBQ sauce.
  • Avatar Zhigen Lin ★★★★★ 4 months ago
    We ordered a bowl of Brunswick Stew and Dark Chicken Dinner with Hush Puppies, mashed potatoes n’ gravy, and Brunswick stew.The Brunswick stew: “Southland’s own recipe includes pulled chicken, chopped pork, okra corn, limas, potatoes, and … More tomatoes. It was filling and delicious.The Dark Chicken Dinner: the fried chicken was crispy on the outside and juicy&tender on the inside. Be careful, it’s really hot, let it cool before chomping it down. Hush puppies was just the right amount of sweetness.Highly recommend the fried chickens.
  • Avatar Jody Cohee ★★★★★ 4 months ago
    Some of the best fried chicken I've ever had from a restaurant. Homemade mashed potatoes, fresh hush puppies. Good food good service will definitely go back.
  • Avatar B G ☆☆☆☆ 4 months ago
    Arrived today after church and found two couples waiting. Did not appear overly busy or crowded. My wife went to the ladies room while I waited to put our name on the list.After quite some time my wife returned. The staff I saw did not … More ever acknowledge or speak to me, so we left.Response: I did wait, and nobody was there! An honest and accurate experience.
  • Avatar Rebekah Bane ★★★★★ a year ago
    Yummy food, great service. I would have just gave it 3 to 4 stars but my picky 10 year old son LOVED his grilled cheese so him eating something without complaining is the best!@
  • Avatar L Wolf (Old Dog) ★★★★★ a year ago
    I always love to stop at Southland. The people are always very nice. Very good BBQ. I really like the Brunswick stew. If I am driving on 168, you are guaranteed to see me at Southern.
  • Avatar Mike H ★★★☆☆ 7 months ago
    April 2021 - 3 starsThis has been our go-to after church for several years. Since covid-19, things have changed and not for the better. Not sure if the cook is different, but things are coming out of the kitchen with less pride. They've … More gotten rid of some staples like their breakfast casserole which was better than cracker barrel. They no longer have things like mushrooms or spinach for your omelet, even though you can buy mushrooms that will last forever in a $0.50 can and work great in omelets. Today was kind of the last straw. We've had trouble getting decent fried potatoes the last few visits. Today, my wife was served raw potatoes. They were cold in the center. We told them we wanted them fried and asked for a new order. I've attached a picture what they brought. It was the same thing thrown in a microwave. You used to be able to get crispy potatoes and they were always well seasoned. It's a true shame, because this is super convenient and the staff are as good as you will find anywhere. The cook has to go and the management needs to rethink the menu.April 2019 - 5 starsIf you're looking for hometown food, cooked exactly the way your mom used to, this is the place. The waitresses are fast, caring and they remember you from week to week.
  • Avatar Richard Krieger ★★★☆☆ 7 months ago
    We only had beef barbeque so that's all I can rate on which is to say it was decent. The tea, collards and potato salad sides were good. The restaurant and restrooms were clean and the staff very friendly. I believe if there were more … More of us to order different meals from the varied menu I'd be rating it as higher as a general family restaurant. Gas station on site which is a bonus.
  • Avatar Susie Smith ★★★★★ 7 months ago
    Our family loved it. We are a family of 5 and we were seated quick. We each had different food for our meal and it was all great. Good food, very friendly service and nice environment.
  • Avatar Coleen Smith ★★★★★ 8 months ago
    Southland recently catered our son's outdoor wedding at our home and they did such an outstanding job! They brought their catering trailer and prepared the food onsite. Everything was so delicious but the fried chicken was an absolute … More winner. From beginning to end, Travis White and his staff handled every single detail effortlessly and I was able to enjoy the day instead of overseeing things. What an incredible luxury that was for me. Thank you, Travis, for being so on top of things, even from our very first discussion of the event. I couldn't recommend Southland Catering highly enough!
  • Avatar Arden Steiner ★★★★★ 8 months ago
    Awesome catfish dinner! This place rocks and I will be back. The breading was perfect and the fish flaked apart just like grandma's! Awesome and friendly service too.....oh yeah....most unique and amazing corn bread I ever had.....the … More server snuck me a second piece!
  • Avatar Loretta Tuttie Jacobs Cantal ★★★★★ 10 months ago
    Love it , service is always great , staff is very friendly and food is very tasty and most importantly price's are very reasonable. Can't go wrong on stopping here. It has a great gift shop with lots of wonderful thing's. … More As for me their jewelry is enough by itself for me to come beautiful selection of jewelry and price's are even better. Love this place
  • Avatar Bambi Burch ★★★★★ 9 months ago
    GREAT food and GREAT service. Nice menu. There were 14 of us at one table. Each one of us enjoyed what we ordered, as well as the good service. We had a great time celebrating my mom and dad's 63rd anniversary with friends and … More family at Southland restaurantThank you Southland!!!!
  • Avatar Sophia H ★★★★★ 9 months ago
    Came here after a 45 minute wait in cracker barrel. I should have came here from the jump. Food was crazy good, loved the home feel and service was the hospitality any momma would be proud of. I'll be traveling from va beach more often … More to the border for this place. And the coffee was good too!
  • Avatar L R (Old Dog) ★★★★★ a year ago
    I always love to stop at Southland. The people are always very nice. Very good BBQ. I really like the Brunswick stew. If I am driving on 168, you are guaranteed to see me at Southern.
  • Avatar kevin davis ★★★★★ a year ago
    Stopped in from out of town and Omg the food was awesome and the service was great. Letha our server was the best and definitely will be back
  • Avatar Rosa Lawson ★★★★★ 11 months ago
    So my husband and I stopped in today to get a bit to eat. The staff was friendly and welcoming. The food was amazing.The BBQ perfect. The mac and cheese was creamy, the mash potatoes and gravy was good. What really got me was the shrimp … More bisque. It was soooooo good and it had alot of shrimp in it. We can't wait to go back again.
  • Avatar Chris Johnson ★★★★ a year ago
    Great ritual stop for my family to and from the OBX. Supreme BBQ. Excellence. Good other food too. Neat shopping for non food items too. Cigarettes are very cheap there. Nice to just sit out in the rocking chairs and chill by the VA/NC … More border. Definitely recommend stopping there when you pass by.
  • Avatar Jennifer Nolan ★★★★★ a year ago
    I had to come back and review this restaurant again. I rated it a year ago and only gave it three stars. Since the Covid break out, this restaurant has come back stronger than ever. They have socially distanced the restaurant which makes … More the area seem more open and bright. Most of the servers that needed to leave, have left because of the unemployment benefits. The servers that are still there are fantastic, they actually care if you're satisfied. I cannot stop raving about the service I have had since going back after the Covid initial shutdown. The food is even better than it used to be before the decline in the last year. Everything has been fantastic that we have ate. Their fried chicken is amazing, so are the fried pork chops. The menu is smaller now which I think helps the items that are being served to be even better because there's less confusion in the kitchen. I'm really hoping that if we are ever put back to normal that they keep the changes they have made because they are definitely an improvement.
  • Avatar Calvin Hanchey ★★★★★ a year ago
    Excellent as always and for the last 50 years or so. Best BBQ Sammich ! For the Cost IT'S What You Want For A NC Original Style BBQ .Cold Slaw is the best on the Planet. Been going there for 56 years now. From Norfolk to My Cottage … More in Kitty Hawk. My Favorite Ride ever since I use to skip school at Granby to surf Hatteras. Still my favorite Ride and Southland's BBQ , has been a big part of it since then .
  • Avatar Josh James ★★★★★ a year ago
    Love this place. Look forward to stopping in every year. Always something new to look at. Good food and awesome collectables and other trinkets. Also amazing selection of awesomely priced glass pieces and things for all of your tobacco … More needs!
  • Avatar Angela Blocher ★★★★★ a year ago
    Amazing food!! Quick service and reasonably priced meals. The chicken fried steak was outstanding, delicious mac-n-cheese and the rolls are fantastic.
  • Avatar Mark Sprinkle ★★★★★ a year ago
    I've been stopping by there since I was a kid. Took my kids there and now, grandkids. Friendly, good food and novelties.
  • Avatar Bob Stevens ★★★★★ 2 years ago
    All BBQ should be this good. Don't be fooled by the truck-stop styled signage. Southland is a hidden gem in plain view.Collard greens, coleslaw, fried chicken and fried okra were among my favorites, but the authentically tasty down … More south vinegar-based sauce was especially delicious. Lucky for you, they bottle and sell it at the check out counter. Check the label for details on some simple recipes to recreate the experience and impress your friends. All you need now is a spit and a spare 12 hours.Service is prompt, friendly and accommodating. Restaurant is clean and inviting. Lots of bang for your buck when it comes to price.
  • Avatar Martha Stensland ★★★★ 3 years ago
    Love this place, good home cooking, friendly staff, and amazing fried chicken 🙂
  • Avatar Jacqueline Barnaby ★★★★★ a year ago
    Amazing fried chicken, the southern way!!
  • Avatar Carrie Aul ★★★★★ a year ago
    Great food! We had fried chicken and chicken tenders the hush puppies were delicious!
  • Avatar Last Charlestonian ★★★★ a year ago
    Servings were small for the price. The service was nice.
  • Avatar Debbie Bailey ★★★★★ a year ago
    Food was good, service was great.
  • Avatar johnny thomas ★★★★★ a year ago
    Always love coming her the staff is awesome and i always catch sweet deals on collectables
  • Avatar Deborah Joyner ★★★★★ a year ago
    All the food was great. My family really enjoyed it!
  • A Google User ★★★★★ a year ago
    Always love coming her the staff is awesome and i always catch sweet deals on collectables
  • Avatar Terry Bright ★★★★★ a year ago
    Great food you GOT / MUST try the food is excellent
  • Avatar Hitech ★★★★★ a year ago
    Good NC BBQ at a convenient location. Great fir a stop and go on the way home from the beach.
  • Avatar Jason Kester ★★★★ a year ago
    A really neat place, a restaurant, gas station, store, all in one. Well maintained and a convenient location on the way to the OBX.
  • Avatar L R ★★★★★ a year ago
    I always love to stop at Southland. The people are always very nice. Very good BBQ. I really like the Brunswick stew. If I am driving on 168, you are guaranteed to see me at Southern.
  • Avatar g00gle That ★★★★★ a year ago
    Been along time since I had a good down south home cooked meal everything was on point !
  • Avatar Colin Harris ★★★★★ a year ago
    Good food and better service. Food is home cooked and fresh. Staff is always professional and friendly.
  • Avatar Melissa Zimmerman ★★★★ a year ago
    Good food, had BLTs this time on our way out to the OBX. The onion rings were cooled just right!
  • Avatar Chris Treakle ★★★★★ a year ago
    Awesome staff. Great quick food for on the go or fantastic restaurant dining . Lots to shop for obx stuff and Carolina collectable things.
  • Avatar Ashley Vaillancourt ★★★★★ a year ago
    I love this place! I take me and kids once a month at least to go get bbq, slaw, fireworks, and all my smoking needs!! I live in Virginia Beach, but will always take this drive!!
  • Avatar Flor Johnson ★★★★★ a year ago
    They are the BEST
  • Avatar bill Renn ★★★★★ a year ago
    Great bar bq good road food. Carry out only right now.
  • Avatar Timothy Hanback ★★★★★ a year ago
    Take my advice the pulled nc pork bbq is worth stopping for me and the girlfriend on a limb needed gas and said hell let’s go so happy we did!
  • Avatar Cindy Britt ★★★★★ a year ago
    Always great southern cooking and friendly staff. Not too far from Virginia Beach area to run down there for lunch!
  • Avatar Tyanna Brown ★★★★★ a year ago
    This place is LEGIT. By far the best around- Go here if you want good
  • Avatar Kalei IsTooTech ★★★★ a year ago
    An awesome place to visit. The food we bought was good, and it was an overall nice spot.
  • Avatar Patricia Robinson ★★★★★ a year ago
    Always great service great food. Can't wait to be able to eat inside for our favorite servers and staff and the buffet yummy
  • Avatar Me S ★★★★★ a year ago
    BBQ was delicious. Also loved the baked beans. They also have a nice selection of fireworks. Definitely will be coming back soon
  • Avatar Stan E ★★★★★ 2 years ago
    Got one of the take home catering packages with a few extra side trays for a farewell party. Everyone was happy with the food. The Mac & cheese was one of the most popular sides with my crowd. Hush puppies were also great. The rib tips … More were the best of the bunch. The pulled pork was solid. For anyone not familiar, the take home package comes with a bottle of NC vinegar based BBQ, but if you want a thicker BBQ option you can grab it in the Southland store next door.
  • Avatar Silent Whisper ★★★★★ a year ago
    Wow!! Delicious flavorful country food, on a buffet. I mean we thoroughly enjoyed it. Go there!Then beside the restaurant is a great fireworks and gift shop. Fun!
  • Avatar Greg Sujeta ★★★★★ a year ago
    Had their dinner buffet, soup, salad and entree. $25 total for the wife and myself. Everything was very tasty from the soup of the day ( potato chowder) to an array of entrees. Fried chicken, baked chicken, hamburger steak with onions, … More pork bbq, and real redskin mash potatoes!The wife and I will definitely go back again.
  • Avatar Theresa Terry ★★★★★ a year ago
    Wow!! Delicious flavorful country food, on a buffet. I mean we thoroughly enjoyed it. Go there!Then beside the restaurant is a great fireworks and gift shop. Fun!
  • Avatar Brett Laws ★★★★★ 2 years ago
    Best place within 25 miles to get fried chicken. They have a buffet, too but I still prefer to order it off the menu, it's worth the wait. They have a variety of homemade sides as well. Lots of other options besides chicken. Snack … More bar next door has ice cream and milk shakes for dessert
  • Avatar Natte Scott ★★★★ 2 years ago
    Sunday buffet is 12.95. These place is busy! Very basic though, so not sure why so popular. Not much BBQ either and they stopped making the brisket at 12 noon?A bit chaotic around the small buffet tables, but everyone was nice and patient. … More

X