Customer Reviews

Southland Restaurant and Catering IconSouthland Restaurant and Catering

141 Caratoke Highway, Moyock

4.5 823 reviews

  • Avatar Tony Romo ★★★★ 2 months ago
    One stop shop coming and leaving OBX.
  • Avatar Sean Brandenburg ★★★★★ 2 months ago
    We stop here every year, on the way in and out of the OBX. It's a family tradition.
  • Avatar Chris Johnson ★★★★ a month ago
    Great ritual stop for my family to and from the OBX. Supreme BBQ. Excellence. Good other food too. Neat shopping for non food items too. Cigarettes are very cheap there. Nice to just sit out in the rocking chairs and chill by the VA/NC … More border. Definitely recommend stopping there when you pass by.
  • Avatar Jennifer Nolan ★★★★★ a week ago
    I had to come back and review this restaurant again. I rated it a year ago and only gave it three stars. Since the Covid break out, this restaurant has come back stronger than ever. They have socially distanced the restaurant which makes … More the area seem more open and bright. Most of the servers that needed to leave, have left because of the unemployment benefits. The servers that are still there are fantastic, they actually care if you're satisfied. I cannot stop raving about the service I have had since going back after the Covid initial shutdown. The food is even better than it used to be before the decline in the last year. Everything has been fantastic that we have ate. Their fried chicken is amazing, so are the fried pork chops. The menu is smaller now which I think helps the items that are being served to be even better because there's less confusion in the kitchen. I'm really hoping that if we are ever put back to normal that they keep the changes they have made because they are definitely an improvement.
  • Avatar Rebekah Bane ★★★★★ 3 months ago
    Yummy food, great service. I would have just gave it 3 to 4 stars but my picky 10 year old son LOVED his grilled cheese so him eating something without complaining is the best!@
  • Avatar Calvin Hanchey ★★★★★ 3 months ago
    Excellent as always and for the last 50 years or so. Best BBQ Sammich ! For the Cost IT'S What You Want For A NC Original Style BBQ .Cold Slaw is the best on the Planet. Been going there for 56 years now. From Norfolk to My Cottage … More in Kitty Hawk. My Favorite Ride ever since I use to skip school at Granby to surf Hatteras. Still my favorite Ride and Southland's BBQ , has been a big part of it since then .
  • Avatar Josh James ★★★★★ 2 months ago
    Love this place. Look forward to stopping in every year. Always something new to look at. Good food and awesome collectables and other trinkets. Also amazing selection of awesomely priced glass pieces and things for all of your tobacco … More needs!
  • Avatar Angela Blocher ★★★★★ 4 months ago
    Amazing food!! Quick service and reasonably priced meals. The chicken fried steak was outstanding, delicious mac-n-cheese and the rolls are fantastic.
  • Avatar Mark Sprinkle ★★★★★ a month ago
    I've been stopping by there since I was a kid. Took my kids there and now, grandkids. Friendly, good food and novelties.
  • Avatar Bob Stevens ★★★★★ a year ago
    All BBQ should be this good. Don't be fooled by the truck-stop styled signage. Southland is a hidden gem in plain view.Collard greens, coleslaw, fried chicken and fried okra were among my favorites, but the authentically tasty down … More south vinegar-based sauce was especially delicious. Lucky for you, they bottle and sell it at the check out counter. Check the label for details on some simple recipes to recreate the experience and impress your friends. All you need now is a spit and a spare 12 hours.Service is prompt, friendly and accommodating. Restaurant is clean and inviting. Lots of bang for your buck when it comes to price.
  • Avatar Martha Stensland ★★★★ 2 years ago
    Love this place, good home cooking, friendly staff, and amazing fried chicken 🙂
  • Avatar Jacqueline Barnaby ★★★★★ 3 months ago
    Amazing fried chicken, the southern way!!
  • Avatar Carrie Aul ★★★★★ 2 months ago
    Great food! We had fried chicken and chicken tenders the hush puppies were delicious!
  • Avatar Last Charlestonian ★★★★ 3 months ago
    Servings were small for the price. The service was nice.
  • Avatar Debbie Bailey ★★★★★ 3 months ago
    Food was good, service was great.
  • Avatar johnny thomas ★★★★★ 3 months ago
    Always love coming her the staff is awesome and i always catch sweet deals on collectables
  • Avatar Deborah Joyner ★★★★★ 3 months ago
    All the food was great. My family really enjoyed it!
  • Avatar kevin davis ★★★★★ 3 months ago
    Stopped in from out of town and Omg the food was awesome and the service was great. Letha our server was the best and definitely will be back
  • A Google User ★★★★★ 3 months ago
    Always love coming her the staff is awesome and i always catch sweet deals on collectables
  • Avatar Terry Bright ★★★★★ 3 months ago
    Great food you GOT / MUST try the food is excellent
  • Avatar Hitech ★★★★★ 3 months ago
    Good NC BBQ at a convenient location. Great fir a stop and go on the way home from the beach.
  • Avatar Jason Kester ★★★★ 3 months ago
    A really neat place, a restaurant, gas station, store, all in one. Well maintained and a convenient location on the way to the OBX.
  • Avatar L R ★★★★★ 4 months ago
    I always love to stop at Southland. The people are always very nice. Very good BBQ. I really like the Brunswick stew. If I am driving on 168, you are guaranteed to see me at Southern.
  • Avatar g00gle That ★★★★★ 4 months ago
    Been along time since I had a good down south home cooked meal everything was on point !
  • Avatar Colin Harris ★★★★★ 4 months ago
    Good food and better service. Food is home cooked and fresh. Staff is always professional and friendly.
  • Avatar Melissa Zimmerman ★★★★ 4 months ago
    Good food, had BLTs this time on our way out to the OBX. The onion rings were cooled just right!
  • Avatar Chris Treakle ★★★★★ 4 months ago
    Awesome staff. Great quick food for on the go or fantastic restaurant dining . Lots to shop for obx stuff and Carolina collectable things.
  • Avatar Ashley Vaillancourt ★★★★★ 4 months ago
    I love this place! I take me and kids once a month at least to go get bbq, slaw, fireworks, and all my smoking needs!! I live in Virginia Beach, but will always take this drive!!
  • Avatar Flor Johnson ★★★★★ 4 months ago
    They are the BEST
  • Avatar bill Renn ★★★★★ 5 months ago
    Great bar bq good road food. Carry out only right now.
  • Avatar Timothy Hanback ★★★★★ 5 months ago
    Take my advice the pulled nc pork bbq is worth stopping for me and the girlfriend on a limb needed gas and said hell let’s go so happy we did!
  • Avatar Cindy Britt ★★★★★ 5 months ago
    Always great southern cooking and friendly staff. Not too far from Virginia Beach area to run down there for lunch!
  • Avatar Tyanna Brown ★★★★★ 5 months ago
    This place is LEGIT. By far the best around- Go here if you want good
  • Avatar Kalei IsTooTech ★★★★ 6 months ago
    An awesome place to visit. The food we bought was good, and it was an overall nice spot.
  • Avatar Patricia Robinson ★★★★★ 6 months ago
    Always great service great food. Can't wait to be able to eat inside for our favorite servers and staff and the buffet yummy
  • Avatar Me S ★★★★★ 6 months ago
    BBQ was delicious. Also loved the baked beans. They also have a nice selection of fireworks. Definitely will be coming back soon
  • Avatar Stan E ★★★★★ 11 months ago
    Got one of the take home catering packages with a few extra side trays for a farewell party. Everyone was happy with the food. The Mac & cheese was one of the most popular sides with my crowd. Hush puppies were also great. The rib tips … More were the best of the bunch. The pulled pork was solid. For anyone not familiar, the take home package comes with a bottle of NC vinegar based BBQ, but if you want a thicker BBQ option you can grab it in the Southland store next door.
  • Avatar Silent Whisper ★★★★★ 9 months ago
    Wow!! Delicious flavorful country food, on a buffet. I mean we thoroughly enjoyed it. Go there!Then beside the restaurant is a great fireworks and gift shop. Fun!
  • Avatar Greg Sujeta ★★★★★ 9 months ago
    Had their dinner buffet, soup, salad and entree. $25 total for the wife and myself. Everything was very tasty from the soup of the day ( potato chowder) to an array of entrees. Fried chicken, baked chicken, hamburger steak with onions, … More pork bbq, and real redskin mash potatoes!The wife and I will definitely go back again.
  • Avatar Theresa Terry ★★★★★ 9 months ago
    Wow!! Delicious flavorful country food, on a buffet. I mean we thoroughly enjoyed it. Go there!Then beside the restaurant is a great fireworks and gift shop. Fun!
  • Avatar Brett Laws ★★★★★ a year ago
    Best place within 25 miles to get fried chicken. They have a buffet, too but I still prefer to order it off the menu, it's worth the wait. They have a variety of homemade sides as well. Lots of other options besides chicken. Snack … More bar next door has ice cream and milk shakes for dessert
  • Avatar Natte Scott ★★★★ a year ago
    Sunday buffet is 12.95. These place is busy! Very basic though, so not sure why so popular. Not much BBQ either and they stopped making the brisket at 12 noon?A bit chaotic around the small buffet tables, but everyone was nice and patient. … More

X