Customer Reviews

Southland Restaurant and Catering IconSouthland Restaurant and Catering

141 Caratoke Highway, Moyock

4.5 1,583 reviews

  • Avatar Lionel Mandrake ★★★★★ 3 months ago
    In one plate I got the best fried flounder I ever had, the best collard greens I ever had, and the best hush puppies I ever had. Waitress was fantastic also.Had the two piece fish dinner. More like two whales. Couldn't finish.
  • Avatar Richard French ★★★★★ 2 months ago
    Been meaning to do a review on this place. Stumbled upon this place 1 day for lunch and got bbq. Surprised me with how good the food was for a rather country place. Being a black man I had my feeler antenna up and by time I left I was at … More ease. They have a nice gift/souvenir shop fireworks and a very reasonable bong/tobacco shop. Prices on glass pipes are already reasonable they even offered 10% off I believe but prices ok before any discount. I have purchased 2 glass pipes in my many trips here and I love them and the price still. I live many miles away but the wife and I said we would do breakfast here 1 day so we did. As with the lunch and dinner breakfast was delicious and beautiful. The only take away from breakfast was the paper like real paper plate. It gets soggy and ur fork will go thru just like mine. Can't complain Abt the service at any point of this place so we go monthly at the least since we found it. Mad at myself for not taking pics of breakfast more so than lunch but will add photos on my next trip there
  • Avatar David Floyd ★★★★★ a month ago
    Good BBQ and a nice crew. Good selection of goods and a nice place to stop to or from the OBX. The place across the street has really gone down hill over the years.
  • Avatar John Montoya ★★★★★ 4 months ago
    Food was deliciousService was friendly, fast and professional. Great prices
  • Avatar Jen McKinney ★★★★★ a month ago
    Food is wonderful - you must order the fried chicken - you won’t be disappointed. The okra, baked beans, and hush puppies are also fantastic!!Sadly I was accosted by a woman who was afflicted with dementia and was being allowed to wander … More around the restaurant. Her family brushed it off saying she had dementia instead of making sure she was in a safe space. Our server was apologetic and made me feel better.So it was an odd visit - but the food was great!
  • Avatar Unsimply Us ★★★★★ 3 months ago
    This place has what is true NC BBQ. It doesn't even need sauce. Get it as is and trust me, you will love it. I have always loved it. I had been away from the area for about 14 years, went back and got and sandwich and it was the exact … More same. I can even taste it now. I left around 09 and came back at the end of 23 due to family friend passing. I introduced my wife to it and she loved it too. Don't change a thing y'all.
  • Avatar Matt Worley ★★★★★ a month ago
    Great BBQ, chicken strips, and burgers. I have tried the other foods on the menu yet, but I'm sure they're good as well.Friendly staff. Great place for food and a rest from travel. It's worth your rest time to stop and … More check them out! Clean bathrooms too!
  • Avatar tebb23 *** ★★★★ 2 months ago
    The food here is usually pretty dang good this most recent time we went there a few days ago the food was good but my burger and the bun itself were burnt pretty bad. My wife had a type of a seafood sandwich and her bun also was burnt not … More as bad as mine, but still, do you like burnt bread? The hush puppies as usual were spectacular so that’s why they’re still getting four stars and every other time we’ve been there it’s been a five star meal.
  • Avatar Sally Smith ★★★★★ 2 years ago
    My husband and I just moved to the area and discovered this AMAZING restaurant! We love this place so much, we stopped in twice in one week! Prices are very fair. Staff is incredibly friendly and attentive. Everything we ordered the … More both times we were there, were excellent! So glad we stopped in! Y’all have two new customers for life!
  • Avatar Johnny Rotten ★★★★★ 5 months ago
    The fried chicken was very good, some down home cooking! The pulled pork is just the way I like it... Carolina style. The staff was cheery and approachable. Will def eat here againI only wish the side portions were slightly bigger. the … More prices didn't hit the wallet too hard also
  • Avatar Ben Albert ★★★☆☆ 6 months ago
    I was hoping for a good cooked meal. The service was good. The food was not all that. I had fried pork chop dinner, which comes with 2 pork chops. Well one of them was a country-fried steak, they corrected it. The Brunswick stew was not … More good at all. The green beans were good. I suggest going here as some of the other food looked good as well.
  • Avatar Della Crossley ★★★★★ 5 months ago
    Love this place went 2-3 Mondays in a row forgetting they were closed on Monday’s.I love the food the service and atmosphere. I’ve had the fried chicken the best, catfish, chicken and dumpling’s. Mashed potatoes, green bean, baked beans, … More chocolate pie, apple pie and pecan pie. Everything was Absolutely THE BEST.I drive down from Va.. Beach sometime twice a week. We’ll worth the drive.
  • Avatar Mako Minami ★★★★★ 10 months ago
    Solid bbq, while it was a bit dry I also appreciate the fact that they weren't trying to hard. Fairly simple no thrills . Fries were nice since can tell they were fresh cut today.Brunswick stew was also home-made.
  • Avatar Bayard Donkey ★★★★★ 9 months ago
    I always come here for the pulled pork BBQ, but this time I got the flounder po boy. Very good crispy fish and flavorful sauce.
  • Avatar Jo Ann Quick ★★★★★ 9 months ago
    The place to go for us smokers. Cigarette prices on cartons can't be beat. The people behind the counter are conscientious, know the prices, and information on less well-known varieties, and if you are a cash customer, you receive … More a small discount.If you go in the main part of the store, youCan have some lunch, some homemade BBQ, a quart of Brunswick stew, or ice cream.You could browse around and find something for everyone.It is a very enjoyable one-stop shop. I go once a month for cigarettes for myself and my friends. It's a 2 hour round trip easy drive. Take a chance on the way down you will not be disappointed.
  • Avatar Sarah Ouellette ★★★★ 8 months ago
    Good for southern fried foods. Salad bar was excellent.
  • Avatar David Williams ★★★★★ 7 months ago
    This is a great, country style breakfast and lunch spot. Breakfast stops at 11, but the lunch plates are just as good. The country fried steak is delicious. The service is very very good, and attentive. The wait staff makes you want … More to come back just as much as the food.
  • Avatar Kristin Adams ★★★★★ 9 months ago
    We absolutely love Southland! The food is always delicious whether it is Breakfast or Dinner. We also scheduled catering for a family get together and it was a huge hit. Everyone that came to eat loved the choices and the quality. We will … More definitely use the catering service again. And thank you to Travis for being attentive to our needs and easy to contact. I would give more than 5 stars!
  • Avatar David Logan ★★★★★ a year ago
    As many times we have driven by this place going to OBX we have never stopped, until tonight. We have heard from a friend that the chicken here is really good, so we decided to stop for a visit. It’s a nice little diner setting, everyone … More is nice, and the fried chicken is delicious. I had to try the bbq which is excellent. Good flavor!! We can’t wait to come back again!!
  • Avatar aCeidra ★★★★ 7 months ago
    Great authentic NC pulled pork, tender fried chicken, comfort-food collards, and some magic in the slaw, I could have eaten a quart of it! This place looks a little run down but dang the food is good. And we are critical about food, lol!The … More gentleman who helped us at the takeout counter was gracious, kind, courteous --a Southern gentleman.
  • Avatar Yingxi Rona Shi ★★★★ a year ago
    Went there on a Sunday. Waited for quite a while before got seated. Ordered signature fried chicken and a BBQ brisket sandwich and a chicken dumpling soup. The main dish is ok, but the side dish is really good. We really liked the hush … More puppies, the coleslaws, and the cucumber salad. The mac'n cheese is also ok. I enjoyed the chicken and dumplings soup. It wasn't spectacular, but homey. Not too salty like some other restaurants do. Overall it is an ok restaurant for the region it is in.
  • Avatar Ronda Phillips ★★★★ 8 months ago
    Stopped in for breakfast on a weekend. The place had a crowd of locals and some tourists and it was bustling. I had eggs, home fries, bacon and a biscuit, husband had eggs home fries and biscuit with sausage gravy. The waitress was a little … More off her game and had to come back to ask how to cook our eggs but otherwise the service was quick for how busy they were. Portions are large enough that I couldn't finish everything. My husband really like the sausage gravy and wished he had ordered a second biscuit! We walked out very full for just over $25 + tip.
  • Avatar Byron Banks ★★★★★ 8 months ago
    My boys love this place. I love the food. Great NC BBQ and collards. My waitress made an accident by clearing our table too quickly and they quickly got him a brand new plate to eat off of. Other staff were assisting elderly persons like … More they were family. These people care about their workplace and their customers.
  • Avatar robert ford ★★★★★ 9 months ago
    Some of the best southern cooking around. The barbecue, not so much. The pulled pork was dry and quite flavorless. However, everything else was excellent. The fried chicken is magnificent. So, was the greens. Mac and cheese was … More good as well
  • Avatar Heidi Wimbush ★★★★★ 9 months ago
    Some of the best fried chicken ever! Was definitely a bit too cold in there though. I think they had the air conditioner set on Arctic Ice but the food was great and the service always friendly.
  • Avatar Suzi D ★★★★★ 10 months ago
    This county girl is thankful I decided to make the drive to eat here. The food & the people made me feel like I was back home. I can't wait to go back, even if I do pay a $8 toll each way!
  • Avatar Bill Hudgins ★★★☆☆ 10 months ago
    Food is delicious. But could be a bit bigger serving...It's almost like there counting the calories for you..Bread..1 Roll??Or 3 hush puppies..Most places I go.. bread baskets ..are replaced with new ones..
  • Avatar Allyson W ★★★★ 2 years ago
    Decent quality and prices, friendly staff. Green Beans and hush puppies were delicious, bacon on the BLT was thick cut and crisp, chicken was a bit salty for my taste though. Green beans are out of the can and doctored up, hush puppies … More and biscuits are made in-house, (we asked). The most disappointing part was that there are billboards for the hand breaded chicken everywhere, but they don't serve it until 11am, it's not available on the breakfast menu. All Canvas photos in the restaurant are for sale, sides are available in pint sizes, salad bar looked appetizing. Overall, the best meal I had traveling back to VA from NC.
  • Avatar Tarek D. ★★★★★ a year ago
    I was in town last week from Detroit …passing thru for work , tried the fried chicken meal with hush puppies, mashed potatoes , Mac n cheese. All excellent and friendly service
  • Avatar Zhigen Lin ★★★★★ 3 years ago
    We ordered a bowl of Brunswick Stew and Dark Chicken Dinner with Hush Puppies, mashed potatoes n’ gravy, and Brunswick stew.The Brunswick stew: “Southland’s own recipe includes pulled chicken, chopped pork, okra corn, limas, potatoes, and … More tomatoes. It was filling and delicious.The Dark Chicken Dinner: the fried chicken was crispy on the outside and juicy&tender on the inside. Be careful, it’s really hot, let it cool before chomping it down. Hush puppies was just the right amount of sweetness.Highly recommend the fried chickens.
  • Avatar Jeannie Jones ★★★★★ a year ago
    My husband and I visited Southland on Sunday around noon. A 10 minute wait was absolutely worth it! I got fried pork chops, collards and fries and it was delicious to say the least. He got Country fried steak with collards and Mac and cheese. … More He said it was the best he’s ever had and of course I would have to agree but the best part of our visit was our waitress Kay. She made sure our lunch was on point! Very informative about the restaurant, smiling and always checking to see if we needed anything! The sweetest waitress!!!! If you go, please ask for her, you won’t be disappointed!!
  • Avatar Tony Romo ★★★★ 4 years ago
    One stop shop coming and leaving OBX.
  • Avatar Sean Brandenburg ★★★★★ 4 years ago
    We stop here every year, on the way in and out of the OBX. It's a family tradition.
  • Avatar Gabby Hickman ★★★★ a year ago
    Wonderful atmosphere, wonderful food. My ONLY complaint is that there was a whole section for what looked like a buffet, but no buffet! So if you’re expecting that, you will be disappointed. But still amazing food. They also sell wild horse … More pictures and portraits with a gift shop right across the parking lot!
  • Avatar The Carolina Railfan ★★★★★ a year ago
    Best southern cooking restaurant around! Can't beat the welcoming small town atmosphere when dining here. I always make a point to stop in and grab some food every time I drive back up to my hometown. Southland never disappoints!! … More
  • Avatar Altameza Mitchell ★★★★★ a year ago
    I always love to go down there, I enjoy shopping looking at all the different things they have. I ever leave from their without purchasing something. I always enjoy the experience.
  • Avatar Liz Macias ★★★★★ a year ago
    This is the best place for fried chicken made to order and it is very well seasoned, guys if your in the area and are hungry this is the spot , I had the light chicken dinner which consists of 1 breast and 2 wings. 2 sides baked beans … More in molasses, delish, fried okra nice and crispy, my husband had the fried steak with gravy it was very tasty, but the fried chicken is the best around. We'll be coming back ,thanks guys good job
  • Avatar keisha metcalfe ★★★★★ a year ago
    We had a wonderful lunch today before parting ways after vacation. They accommodated all 16 of us, quickly, friendly with wonderful service! Make sure you say hello to Kay too! She was great. I hope to make it back here in the future!
  • Avatar Kathy Harvey ★★★★ a year ago
    Food was great. Had pork chop dinners, fried chicken dinner, and club sandwich with fries. Our waitress was Kay. She is very polite and helpful. Ty for a nice dining experience
  • Avatar Eric Hueter ★★★★★ 2 years ago
    *Disclaimer* I do work here. This will have no effect on my rating. I've been dining here for years since before I got a job. The service has always been great. The food is all good. Everything I've tried I have loved. They have … More the best chicken in town or the area for that matter. Fresh made come slaw is also the best in the area in my opinion. I enjoy the fresh made soups. It's difficult for me to rate any business 5 stars, but after all the time I've been here and working, dining here now more often, I stand by my rating. The staff is very friendly and helpful. This was one of the deciding factors in getting a job here. I just enjoy the positive atmosphere.
  • Avatar Tim Burns ★★★★★ a year ago
    This is the place for home cooked food!! The chicken is as the menu says, the best! All if the sides are fantastic. The service is excellent. Everything you would expect from a southern restaurant. We love it here.
  • Avatar Snarky Opposum ★★★★★ 2 years ago
    Called a breakfast order in while we were on the road. Nailed the order. Breakfast biscuit was awesome and the western omelets got a big thumbs up from my co pilot. Haven't had lunch or dinner so I can't comment but breakfast … More was great highly recommend
  • Avatar Landra Cartwright ★★★★★ 2 years ago
    The food is good. I got a ham sandwich and it was delicious. I brought home some barbecue and bake beans and they are very good. I always stop here, nice clean bathroom and unique shop with great items.
  • Avatar Kimberly Beal ★★★★★ 2 years ago
    Best food! Service was amazing. Will stop here every time we are visiting the OBX from now on. Our picky kids found something amazing to eat and loved every bite!
  • Avatar Rebekah Bane ★★★★★ 4 years ago
    Yummy food, great service. I would have just gave it 3 to 4 stars but my picky 10 year old son LOVED his grilled cheese so him eating something without complaining is the best!@
  • Avatar L R ★★★★★ 4 years ago
    I always love to stop at Southland. The people are always very nice. Very good BBQ. I really like the Brunswick stew. If I am driving on 168, you are guaranteed to see me at Southern.
  • Avatar kenneth gunderson ★★★★★ 2 years ago
    I had chicken dinner, my grandson had a hamburger meal, my wife had chicken fingers, my daughter had a barbecue meal. This was a great place to eat. We all thought it was great.
  • Avatar kevin davis ★★★★★ 4 years ago
    Stopped in from out of town and Omg the food was awesome and the service was great. Letha our server was the best and definitely will be back
  • Avatar Kim Adams ★★★★★ 3 years ago
    This place is a travel back in time! This is a must stop when traveling through to the Outer Banks. Everyone is super friendly, the barbecue is the bomb, sandwiches are large, servings are generous, Rootbeer floats, ice cream sundaes, … More malts, and any souvenir you can imagine! I dare you to eat an entire banana split! 3 massive scoops, whole banana, toppings and a huge pile of whipped cream. Super generous on their scoops! Cool spot to find old school candy and soda pops. Cheapest smokes in VA/NC!
  • Avatar Fred Smith ★★★★★ 2 years ago
    I go out of my way to go down to Southland. The employees are the absolute best. The general store is a good time and the restaurant is darn good. My favorite is the shakes they certainly came make one.
  • Avatar Mike Gunn ★★★★★ 3 years ago
    Stopped here on the way to the airport. Needed to make sure to get some good southern food. Fried chicken truly is phenomenal. Juicy meat and delicious breading. Honestly everything was a 10/10. Brunswick Stew was a high point also! If … More we are ever back in the area, will stop here again!
  • Avatar Nathan Burks ★★★★★ 2 years ago
    So sad I don't have a picture to share yet of this place's pulled pork BBQ because I've been eating it almost my whole life! I've lived in Virginia Beach, Chesapeake, and Norfolk, and yet we still make the drive for … More the original! You can now buy their BBQ at Food Lion in most Hampton Roads cities but, it's more expensive and I feel like fresher is better. Go eat there with the family, as a date, it doesn't matter! It's a hometown-type place. You can eat then pick-up more BBQ to go in the store fridge, right next to the BBQ restaurant. They have a decent bottled sauce selection as well. Support local, keep this place in your hearts!!!!***Note for the employees: Y'all absolutely ROCK!!!! Thank you for being the best around!***
  • Avatar KAtwood Adams ★★★★★ 3 years ago
    This place is a travel back in time! This is a must stop when traveling through to the Outer Banks. Everyone is super friendly, the barbecue is the bomb, sandwiches are large, servings are generous, Rootbeer floats, ice cream sundaes, … More malts, and any souvenir you can imagine! I dare you to eat an entire banana split! 3 massive scoops, whole banana, toppings and a huge pile of whipped cream. Super generous on their scoops! Cool spot to find old school candy and soda pops. Cheapest smokes in VA/NC!
  • Avatar Rich “RP2u13” ★★★★★ 2 years ago
    Extremely worth the 30 minute wait!Food was great as was the waitresses,You would not be disappointed either.I'm visiting from Fla.Fried catfish, pork chops, fried chicken with hush puppies...the best! These are a few things eaten … More in past 4 days.I never post when things come up but i felt it was worth it.
  • Avatar Les Potter ★★★★ 3 years ago
    Great service from Skylar. Food was pretty good, but NC BBQ sauce was not our favorite. The hosting staff seemed to be dragging, taking their time to fill empty tables though a long line was waiting. Otherwise, great.
  • Avatar Gary Holland ★★★★★ 3 years ago
    Southland has good choices on their menu ' but the best for me is there Barbecue' pulled or chopped some of the best I have had and great baked beans. They also have a large shop with a good variety of items ' it's in … More a beautiful old country store setting. I would definitely recommend Southland.
  • Avatar Deborah Casler ★★★★ 3 years ago
    Stopped for a quick lunch on our way home from the OBX. My husband and I had the pulled pork sandwich. You could definitely taste the vinegar in the sauce. Not bad, but I think I'd prefer a regular BBQ sauce.
  • Avatar Jody Cohee ★★★★★ 3 years ago
    Some of the best fried chicken I've ever had from a restaurant. Homemade mashed potatoes, fresh hush puppies. Good food good service will definitely go back.
  • Avatar B G ☆☆☆☆ 3 years ago
    Arrived today after church and found two couples waiting. Did not appear overly busy or crowded. My wife went to the ladies room while I waited to put our name on the list.After quite some time my wife returned. The staff I saw did not … More ever acknowledge or speak to me, so we left.Response: I did wait, and nobody was there! An honest and accurate experience.
  • Avatar L Wolf (Old Dog) ★★★★★ 4 years ago
    I always love to stop at Southland. The people are always very nice. Very good BBQ. I really like the Brunswick stew. If I am driving on 168, you are guaranteed to see me at Southern.
  • Avatar Mike H ★★★☆☆ 3 years ago
    April 2021 - 3 starsThis has been our go-to after church for several years. Since covid-19, things have changed and not for the better. Not sure if the cook is different, but things are coming out of the kitchen with less pride. They've … More gotten rid of some staples like their breakfast casserole which was better than cracker barrel. They no longer have things like mushrooms or spinach for your omelet, even though you can buy mushrooms that will last forever in a $0.50 can and work great in omelets. Today was kind of the last straw. We've had trouble getting decent fried potatoes the last few visits. Today, my wife was served raw potatoes. They were cold in the center. We told them we wanted them fried and asked for a new order. I've attached a picture what they brought. It was the same thing thrown in a microwave. You used to be able to get crispy potatoes and they were always well seasoned. It's a true shame, because this is super convenient and the staff are as good as you will find anywhere. The cook has to go and the management needs to rethink the menu.April 2019 - 5 starsIf you're looking for hometown food, cooked exactly the way your mom used to, this is the place. The waitresses are fast, caring and they remember you from week to week.
  • Avatar Richard Krieger ★★★☆☆ 3 years ago
    We only had beef barbeque so that's all I can rate on which is to say it was decent. The tea, collards and potato salad sides were good. The restaurant and restrooms were clean and the staff very friendly. I believe if there were more … More of us to order different meals from the varied menu I'd be rating it as higher as a general family restaurant. Gas station on site which is a bonus.
  • Avatar Susie Smith ★★★★★ 3 years ago
    Our family loved it. We are a family of 5 and we were seated quick. We each had different food for our meal and it was all great. Good food, very friendly service and nice environment.
  • Avatar Coleen Smith ★★★★★ 3 years ago
    Southland recently catered our son's outdoor wedding at our home and they did such an outstanding job! They brought their catering trailer and prepared the food onsite. Everything was so delicious but the fried chicken was an absolute … More winner. From beginning to end, Travis White and his staff handled every single detail effortlessly and I was able to enjoy the day instead of overseeing things. What an incredible luxury that was for me. Thank you, Travis, for being so on top of things, even from our very first discussion of the event. I couldn't recommend Southland Catering highly enough!
  • Avatar Arden Steiner ★★★★★ 3 years ago
    Awesome catfish dinner! This place rocks and I will be back. The breading was perfect and the fish flaked apart just like grandma's! Awesome and friendly service too.....oh yeah....most unique and amazing corn bread I ever had.....the … More server snuck me a second piece!
  • Avatar Loretta Tuttie Jacobs Cantal ★★★★★ 3 years ago
    Love it , service is always great , staff is very friendly and food is very tasty and most importantly price's are very reasonable. Can't go wrong on stopping here. It has a great gift shop with lots of wonderful thing's. … More As for me their jewelry is enough by itself for me to come beautiful selection of jewelry and price's are even better. Love this place
  • Avatar Bambi Burch ★★★★★ 3 years ago
    GREAT food and GREAT service. Nice menu. There were 14 of us at one table. Each one of us enjoyed what we ordered, as well as the good service. We had a great time celebrating my mom and dad's 63rd anniversary with friends and … More family at Southland restaurantThank you Southland!!!!
  • Avatar Sophia H ★★★★★ 3 years ago
    Came here after a 45 minute wait in cracker barrel. I should have came here from the jump. Food was crazy good, loved the home feel and service was the hospitality any momma would be proud of. I'll be traveling from va beach more often … More to the border for this place. And the coffee was good too!
  • Avatar L R (Old Dog) ★★★★★ 4 years ago
    I always love to stop at Southland. The people are always very nice. Very good BBQ. I really like the Brunswick stew. If I am driving on 168, you are guaranteed to see me at Southern.
  • Avatar Rosa Lawson ★★★★★ 3 years ago
    So my husband and I stopped in today to get a bit to eat. The staff was friendly and welcoming. The food was amazing.The BBQ perfect. The mac and cheese was creamy, the mash potatoes and gravy was good. What really got me was the shrimp … More bisque. It was soooooo good and it had alot of shrimp in it. We can't wait to go back again.
  • Avatar Chris Johnson ★★★★ 4 years ago
    Great ritual stop for my family to and from the OBX. Supreme BBQ. Excellence. Good other food too. Neat shopping for non food items too. Cigarettes are very cheap there. Nice to just sit out in the rocking chairs and chill by the VA/NC … More border. Definitely recommend stopping there when you pass by.
  • Avatar Jennifer Nolan ★★★★★ 3 years ago
    I had to come back and review this restaurant again. I rated it a year ago and only gave it three stars. Since the Covid break out, this restaurant has come back stronger than ever. They have socially distanced the restaurant which makes … More the area seem more open and bright. Most of the servers that needed to leave, have left because of the unemployment benefits. The servers that are still there are fantastic, they actually care if you're satisfied. I cannot stop raving about the service I have had since going back after the Covid initial shutdown. The food is even better than it used to be before the decline in the last year. Everything has been fantastic that we have ate. Their fried chicken is amazing, so are the fried pork chops. The menu is smaller now which I think helps the items that are being served to be even better because there's less confusion in the kitchen. I'm really hoping that if we are ever put back to normal that they keep the changes they have made because they are definitely an improvement.
  • Avatar Calvin Hanchey ★★★★★ 4 years ago
    Excellent as always and for the last 50 years or so. Best BBQ Sammich ! For the Cost IT'S What You Want For A NC Original Style BBQ .Cold Slaw is the best on the Planet. Been going there for 56 years now. From Norfolk to My Cottage … More in Kitty Hawk. My Favorite Ride ever since I use to skip school at Granby to surf Hatteras. Still my favorite Ride and Southland's BBQ , has been a big part of it since then .
  • Avatar Josh James ★★★★★ 4 years ago
    Love this place. Look forward to stopping in every year. Always something new to look at. Good food and awesome collectables and other trinkets. Also amazing selection of awesomely priced glass pieces and things for all of your tobacco … More needs!
  • Avatar Angela Blocher ★★★★★ 4 years ago
    Amazing food!! Quick service and reasonably priced meals. The chicken fried steak was outstanding, delicious mac-n-cheese and the rolls are fantastic.
  • Avatar Mark Sprinkle ★★★★★ 4 years ago
    I've been stopping by there since I was a kid. Took my kids there and now, grandkids. Friendly, good food and novelties.
  • Avatar Bob Stevens ★★★★★ 5 years ago
    All BBQ should be this good. Don't be fooled by the truck-stop styled signage. Southland is a hidden gem in plain view.Collard greens, coleslaw, fried chicken and fried okra were among my favorites, but the authentically tasty down … More south vinegar-based sauce was especially delicious. Lucky for you, they bottle and sell it at the check out counter. Check the label for details on some simple recipes to recreate the experience and impress your friends. All you need now is a spit and a spare 12 hours.Service is prompt, friendly and accommodating. Restaurant is clean and inviting. Lots of bang for your buck when it comes to price.
  • Avatar Martha Stensland ★★★★ 6 years ago
    Love this place, good home cooking, friendly staff, and amazing fried chicken 🙂
  • Avatar Jacqueline Barnaby ★★★★★ 4 years ago
    Amazing fried chicken, the southern way!!
  • Avatar Carrie Aul ★★★★★ 4 years ago
    Great food! We had fried chicken and chicken tenders the hush puppies were delicious!
  • Avatar Last Charlestonian ★★★★ 4 years ago
    Servings were small for the price. The service was nice.
  • Avatar Debbie Bailey ★★★★★ 4 years ago
    Food was good, service was great.
  • Avatar johnny thomas ★★★★★ 4 years ago
    Always love coming her the staff is awesome and i always catch sweet deals on collectables
  • Avatar Deborah Joyner ★★★★★ 4 years ago
    All the food was great. My family really enjoyed it!
  • A Google User ★★★★★ 4 years ago
    Always love coming her the staff is awesome and i always catch sweet deals on collectables
  • Avatar Terry Bright ★★★★★ 4 years ago
    Great food you GOT / MUST try the food is excellent
  • Avatar Hitech ★★★★★ 4 years ago
    Good NC BBQ at a convenient location. Great fir a stop and go on the way home from the beach.
  • Avatar Jason Kester ★★★★ 4 years ago
    A really neat place, a restaurant, gas station, store, all in one. Well maintained and a convenient location on the way to the OBX.
  • Avatar g00gle That ★★★★★ 4 years ago
    Been along time since I had a good down south home cooked meal everything was on point !
  • Avatar Colin Harris ★★★★★ 4 years ago
    Good food and better service. Food is home cooked and fresh. Staff is always professional and friendly.
  • Avatar Melissa Zimmerman ★★★★ 4 years ago
    Good food, had BLTs this time on our way out to the OBX. The onion rings were cooled just right!
  • Avatar Chris Treakle ★★★★★ 4 years ago
    Awesome staff. Great quick food for on the go or fantastic restaurant dining . Lots to shop for obx stuff and Carolina collectable things.
  • Avatar Ashley Vaillancourt ★★★★★ 4 years ago
    I love this place! I take me and kids once a month at least to go get bbq, slaw, fireworks, and all my smoking needs!! I live in Virginia Beach, but will always take this drive!!
  • Avatar Flor Johnson ★★★★★ 4 years ago
    They are the BEST
  • Avatar bill Renn ★★★★★ 4 years ago
    Great bar bq good road food. Carry out only right now.
  • Avatar Timothy Hanback ★★★★★ 4 years ago
    Take my advice the pulled nc pork bbq is worth stopping for me and the girlfriend on a limb needed gas and said hell let’s go so happy we did!
  • Avatar Cindy Britt ★★★★★ 4 years ago
    Always great southern cooking and friendly staff. Not too far from Virginia Beach area to run down there for lunch!
  • Avatar Tyanna Brown ★★★★★ 4 years ago
    This place is LEGIT. By far the best around- Go here if you want good
  • Avatar Kalei IsTooTech ★★★★ 4 years ago
    An awesome place to visit. The food we bought was good, and it was an overall nice spot.
  • Avatar Patricia Robinson ★★★★★ 4 years ago
    Always great service great food. Can't wait to be able to eat inside for our favorite servers and staff and the buffet yummy
  • Avatar Me S ★★★★★ 4 years ago
    BBQ was delicious. Also loved the baked beans. They also have a nice selection of fireworks. Definitely will be coming back soon
  • Avatar Stan E ★★★★★ 4 years ago
    Got one of the take home catering packages with a few extra side trays for a farewell party. Everyone was happy with the food. The Mac & cheese was one of the most popular sides with my crowd. Hush puppies were also great. The rib tips … More were the best of the bunch. The pulled pork was solid. For anyone not familiar, the take home package comes with a bottle of NC vinegar based BBQ, but if you want a thicker BBQ option you can grab it in the Southland store next door.
  • Avatar Silent Whisper ★★★★★ 4 years ago
    Wow!! Delicious flavorful country food, on a buffet. I mean we thoroughly enjoyed it. Go there!Then beside the restaurant is a great fireworks and gift shop. Fun!
  • Avatar Greg Sujeta ★★★★★ 4 years ago
    Had their dinner buffet, soup, salad and entree. $25 total for the wife and myself. Everything was very tasty from the soup of the day ( potato chowder) to an array of entrees. Fried chicken, baked chicken, hamburger steak with onions, … More pork bbq, and real redskin mash potatoes!The wife and I will definitely go back again.
  • Avatar Theresa Terry ★★★★★ 4 years ago
    Wow!! Delicious flavorful country food, on a buffet. I mean we thoroughly enjoyed it. Go there!Then beside the restaurant is a great fireworks and gift shop. Fun!
  • Avatar Brett Laws ★★★★★ 4 years ago
    Best place within 25 miles to get fried chicken. They have a buffet, too but I still prefer to order it off the menu, it's worth the wait. They have a variety of homemade sides as well. Lots of other options besides chicken. Snack … More bar next door has ice cream and milk shakes for dessert
  • Avatar Natte Scott ★★★★ 5 years ago
    Sunday buffet is 12.95. These place is busy! Very basic though, so not sure why so popular. Not much BBQ either and they stopped making the brisket at 12 noon?A bit chaotic around the small buffet tables, but everyone was nice and patient. … More

X